• Each year, the Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce holds an Annual Awards & Membership Meeting to highlight the year's achievements and recognize the outstanding contributions of our membership. Along with celebrating these achievements, we hold a silent auction with generous gift donations from our members. If you are interested in becoming a donor, email jacqueline@fairbankschamber.org. We announce the recipients of our annual awards: Bill Stoeker Business of the Year, Bernice M. Joseph Education Advocate of the Year, and George Nehrbas Volunteer of the Year. If you have a business or individual that you want to nominate, click the buttons below.

  • Nomination Period Over. Join Us at Annual Awards & Membership Meeting to See Winners!


  • 2022 Bill Stoecker Business of the Year Award

    Lat 65 Brewing Co.

    Lat 65 made a significant financial investment to revitalize and re-purpose a long-time vacant building. They host one of the largest first Friday events all year long, often having up to 15 artists on display for a month. They also allow other businesses and groups to have pop-up events, such as Making Strides, Hops for Hope, Arctic Refuge, the USO of Eielson and Ft. Wainwright, Staley Cup Memorial, Golden Retriever Rescue of Fairbanks, and a Pajama Drive for the Fairbanks Rescue Mission. The owners of Lat 65 believe in supporting local and in the summer, you can find many food truck business owners setting up shop on their outdoor patio.  They have additionally teamed up with UAF, where a portion of the proceeds of their product goes back to the university to support student athlete scholarships.

    2022 Bernice M. Joseph Education Advocate of the Year Award

    Brianna Gray

    Brianna Gray supports underserved students and families while leading with empathy and intention to provide staff with opportunities to grow professionally and personally. She is often supporting teachers as a guest speaker and with hands-on learning. It was best said in the nomination that “Brianna Gray leads in a way that is not only honest, authentic, and through an indigenous lens; but has a way of bringing the community together through their ability to remain genuine”. The late Bernice Joseph, for whom this award is named, was instrumental in guiding her to where she is now.

    2022 George Nehrbas Volunteer of the Year Award

    MAC Federal Credit Union's MAC PAC

    MAC PAC encourages employees to volunteer by being flexible with work schedules and searching for volunteer opportunities in the community to match the employee with local needs.

    In 2021 there were 618 volunteer hours logged by employees, in 2022, there were over 1,000 hours. Not only is time given, but so is money. Employees in MAC PAC chose to donate $15 from every paycheck and select where to use or donate the funds. Some of the locations they have volunteered with are, The Door, Little Pantries, Denali Center, Relay for Life, Go Red, Clean-up Day, Spin for a Cause, the Food Bank, and the 9/11 Stair Climb.

    MAC PAC is the only employee-funded volunteer group in the state. 


    The Bill Stroecker Business of the Year award honors the accomplishments in the business community of a member of the Chamber who has shown drive in leading local development with sights on the future of Fairbanks. The business is recognized for consistent community involvement, an excellent business reputation with the public, and as a leader in their own profession and/or field of business.

    Past recipients include:

    2022: Lat 65 Brewing Co.
    2021: Kinross Fort Knox
    2020: McKinley Orthopedics, Sports Medicine & Spine
    2019: Alaska Universal Productions
    2018: Design Alaska
    2017: Alyeska Pipeline Service Company
    2016: Sunrise Bagel and Espresso
    2015: HooDoo Brewing Company
    2014: Northern Alaska Tour Company
    2013: Date-Line Digital Printing
    2012: Madden Real Estate
    2011: Mt. McKinley Bank
    2010: Chena Hot Springs
    2009: Santina’s Flowers & Gifts
    2008: Advance Printing Company
    2007: Pacific Alaska Forwarders

    The Bernice M. Joseph Education Advocate of the Year award recognizes a business or individual in the business community that has consistently shown a commitment to education through sustained partnership, outreach, or career development opportunities that improve the educational experience of students and demonstrate partnership, innovation, and creativity. All employees of Chamber member businesses are eligible to receive this award. 

    Past recipients include:

    2022: Brianna Gray
    2021: Spirit of Alaska Federal Credit Union
    2020: Michele Stalder
    2019: Daniel Domke
    2018: Denise Wartes
    2017: The Associated General Contractors of Alaska
    2016: Dr. Cary Keller
    2015: Sue Hull

    The George Nehrbas Volunteer of the Year award is presented to a member of the Chamber who has distinguished themselves as an outstanding volunteer. It is the Chamber's most visible recognition for volunteer contributions to our community. All employees of Chamber member businesses and organizations are eligible to receive this award.

    Past recipients include:

    2022: MAC Federal Credit Union's MAC PAC
    2021: Lisa Cassino
    2020: Ken Hall
    2019: Christina Tachick 
    2018: Clark Milne
    2017 : Mike Richards
    2016: Dr. Katherine Johnson
    2015: Derek Miller
    2014: Sarah Lefebvre
    2013: Heather Lambert
    2012: Mary Jane Fate
    2011: Cindy Cevasco
    2010: Lorna Shaw
    2009: Joe Usibelli Jr.
    2008: Billie Blanchard
    2007: Val Cofield
    2006: Jack Wilbur
    2005: Teresa Reed
    2004: Dr. Hugh "Bud" Fate
    2004: Dan Gavora
    2003: John Ringstad
    2002: Steve Thompson
    2002: Karen Lavery
    2001: Gary Roth
    2001: Joe Usibelli Sr.
    2000: Dick Brickley
    1999: Dr. William R. Wood
    1998: Rose Todd
    1996: Mike Kramer
    1995: Richard Wien
    1993: Jeff Cook
    1992: James R. Lentine
    1991: Pamela J. (held) Younker
    1989: Art Buswell
    1988: Frank Chapados
    1987: Jim Messer
    1985: Jo R. Scott
    1984: John Robertson
    1983: Robert Thomas
    1980: Robert H. Dempsey
    1971: Eva McGowan
    1968: Harry J. Porter
    1967: William "Bill" Green
    1965: J.D. Don Vogwill
    1964: Arthur J. Sexauer
    1963: G.A. "Al" Seeliger