• Mayor Karl Kassel

  • Karl_Kassel(1).jpg
  • Fairbanks, North Star Borough
    PO Box 71267
    Fairbanks, AK 99701
    (907) 459-1304



    Karl W. Kassel was elected as Mayor of the Fairbanks North Star Borough in October 2015 and has lived in Fairbanks since 1975. Originally from New York, Kassel has received his B.S. in Physical Education with Teaching Certification from the State University of New York at Brockport. Kassel worked for the FNSB as the Parks Superintendent from 1988 to 2002 and was the Director of Parks and Recreation from 2002 to 2008. Kassel has served on the FNSB Assembly since 2010 and was the Presiding Officer from 2013 to 2015. Kassel has owned his own construction business and has worked as a construction consultant. He was also a student activities advisor and a canoeing instructor at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

    Mayor Kassel has actively participated in a variety of service organizations, including the Yukon Quest, the Tanana Valley Youth Sports Foundation, the Blind Outdoor Leisure Development, Goldstream Valley Trail Users and Alaska Trails. Kassel has also served as the public address “voice” for the Alaska Dog Mushers Association during the springtime dog races in Fairbanks since 1980. Kassel is serving his first term as Mayor. 


  • we are a proud member of the stand for alaska coalition! are you?

    The Greater Fairbanks Chamber of Commerce's number 2 priority in 2018 is to support the Stand for Alaska coalition, which will work to inform fellow Alaskans of the real dangers of the ballot initiative called Stand for Salmon, and the creation of a job-killing, community damaging regulation that would hurt the state’s ability to develop many of its natural resources. Alaska has a robust permitting process already in place.  

    This ballot initiative will appear on the November 6th ballot during the general election.

    We encourage our members to sign up for the coalition alongside the Fairbanks Chamber and many other businesses in Fairbanks. Find out more at www.standforak.com

    Campaign paid for by Stand for Alaska Vote No on 1, 200 West 34th Avenue, PMB 1219, Anchorage, AK 99503. Marleanna Hall, chair, Aaron Schutt, Jaeleen Kookesh, Joey Merrick, and Sarah Lefebvre, co-chairs, approved this message.  Top contributors are ConocoPhillips Alaska, Anchorage, Alaska, Donlin Gold LLC, Anchorage, Alaska and BP Alaska, Anchorage, Alaska.